LibGuides: FRN 300 Seminar in Francophone Studies: Databases

Databases

Library Databases can be used to find scholarly and non-scholarly articles and other media. These databases contain both abstracts and full-text articles. Some databases only contain abstracts and index information. Subject specific databases are more narrow and usually only contain one specific subject matter. Multi-discipline databases contain information from a wide variety of sources and topics.

Subject Specific Databases

Social Science Database This database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
- This link opens in a new window
Asian & European Business Collection ProQuest Asian & European Business Collection provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines. Find information on companies, economies, and markets as well as international trade and overall business conditions and practices throughout these regions.
- This link opens in a new window
East & South Asia Database The East & South Asia Database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in East and South Asia countries, including China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, South Korea, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, and Thailand. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, medical, social sciences, political science, law, and humanities.
- This link opens in a new window
Education Database Education Database supports the study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education. The database supports global study and research, including thousands of full-text journals, dissertations and other relevant sources.
- This link opens in a new window
Linguistics Database The Linguistics Database includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics including many titles indexed in LLBA.
- This link opens in a new window
Middle East & Africa Database The Middle East & Africa Database features ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in the countries of these regions. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
- This link opens in a new window
Political Science Database ProQuest Political Science gives users access to over 460 leading political science and international relations journals. This collection provides the full-text of 430 core titles, many of which are indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. New to ProQuest Political Science are hundreds of recent, full-text, political science dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities, as well as thousands of current working papers from the Political Science Research Network.
- This link opens in a new window

Multidiscipline Databases

Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.
- This link opens in a new window
Research Library ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. Willet Library has access to 269 journal titles via JSTOR.