Modern Latin American History: Food, Race, and Power

This guide lists sources for those who want to read and learn about the coffee industry, both generally, and focused on Latin America and the Caribbean, while taking into account the expansive notion of the industry, and the different elements of the commodity chain: farm production, exchange/trade, and consumption.

The scope of the Food and Foodways collection of archived websites is broad, reflecting the interdisciplinary nature of food studies. The collection provides an inclusive space for food-related sites proposed by nominators from a wide spectrum of subject areas and specialties.

Research guides focused on those parts of the world encompassing the geographical areas of the Caribbean, Latin America, Spain, and Portugal; the indigenous cultures of those areas; and peoples throughout the world historically influenced by Luso-Hispanic heritage, including Latinx communities in the U.S., and peoples of Portuguese or Spanish heritage in Africa, Asia, and Oceania.

The Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera is a steadily growing repository containing a previously unavailable subset of Princeton’s Latin American Ephemera Collection as well as newly acquired materials being digitized and added on an ongoing basis.

dLOC provides users free and open access to Caribbean cultural, historical, scientific and research materials held in archives, libraries, museums, private collections, and other institutions of memory.

LACLI is an international collaboration to create a repository of free online resources for Latin American, Caribbean, Latinx, and Iberian studies. LACLI is an essential tool to find websites that provide access to a great variety of resources such as audiovisual materials, books, data, ephemera, government documents, oral histories, periodicals, reference works, visual materials, web archives and more!

UTSA’s Mexican Cookbook Collection is comprised of nearly 3,000 cookbooks, from 1789 to the present, with most books dating from 1940-2000. In addition to broad general coverage, the collection includes concentrations in the areas of regional cooking, healthy and vegetarian recipes, corporate advertising cookbooks, and manuscript recipe books.