LibGuides: Chicago: Author-Date

Overview of Author-Date

Author-Date citation styles consist of two parts: a parenthetical in-text citation and a corresponding entry on the Reference list.

In-text citations
- Sources are cited in the text, usually by Author's last name(s) year, and page(s) used.
- Citations can be integrated into the text in the following ways
  - Parenthetical citation at the end of the sentence:
    - (Author year)
  - Integrated into the body of the text
    - According to Author (year)...
Reference List
- A full citation is given on a Reference list at the end of the paper. The page is titled References at the top with no bolding, italics or underlining.
- Entries are arranged alphabetically by the first word used, usually the author's last name, with the first line flush left with the margin and the following lines indented .5".
- A typical entry consists of the author's name in last, first order, year of publication, and title separated by periods, followed by additional publication information.

Formatting Author Names for Chicago Style: Author-Date

Formatting Author Names for Chicago Style: Author-Date
	Reference List	In-Text
One Author	List the author with surname first. Adichie, Chimamanda Ngozi.	Use author's last name (Adichie...)
Two Authors	List the first author with surname first and the second author with given name first. Friedman, Milton, and Anna Jacobson Schwartz.	Use both author's last names (Friedman and Shwartz...)
Three Authors	List the first author with surname first and subsequent authors with given names first. Ayim, Kim, Katharina Oguntoye, and Dagmar Schultz.	Use all three author's last names (Ayim, Oguntoye, and Schultz...)
Four to Ten Authors	List the first author with surname first and subsequent authors with given names first. Xu, Weiai Wayne , Ji Young Park, Ji Young Kim, and Han Woo Park.	Use the first author's last name followed by et al. (period after al. and not et) (Xu et al....)
Ten or More Authors	List the first author with surname first, the next six authors with given names first, followed by et al. (period after al. and not et). Aad, G., B. Abbott, J. Abdallah, O. Abdinov, R. Aben, M. Abolins, O. S. AbouZeid, et al.	Use the first author's last name followed by et al. (period after al. and not et) (Aad et al....)
No Author Listed	Begin the reference list entry with the Title of the Work “English Language Arts Standards.” Common Core State Standards Initiative.	Use the title of the work in place of author. (“English Language Arts Standards”...) (Common Core State Standards Initiative....)
Organization as Author	Use the organization as the author. World Health Organization.	Use the organization as author. World Health Organization.

Citing Books in Chicago Style: A-D

Citing Books in Chicago Style: Author-Date
	Reference List	In-Text
Basic Book Format	Author(s). Year of Publication. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher. Tan, Amy. 1989. The Joy Luck Club. New York: G. P. Putnam's Sons.	(Author Year, page[s]) (Tan 1989, 23)
Book with Editor(s)	Editor Name(s), ed(s). Year. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher. Bray, Karen, and Stephen D. Moore, eds. 2019. Religion, Emotion, Sensation: Affect Theories and Theologies. New York: Fordham University Press.	(Editor's Name[s] Year, page[s]) (Bray and Moore 2019, 11)
Chapter from Edited Book	Chapter Author. Year. "Title of Chapter." In Title of Book, edited by Editor, page ranges for chapter. City of Publication: Publisher. Walker, David F. 2015. "The Token Superhero." In Octavia's Brood, edited by Walidah Imarisha and Adrienne Maree Brown, 15-22. Oakland: AK Press,	(Chapter Author year, page[s]) (Walker 2015, 19)
Translated Book	Original Author. Year. Title of Book. Translated by Translator. City of Publication: Publisher, year of publication. Larsson, Steig. 2008. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Translated by Reg Keeland. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2008.	(Original Author year, page[s]) (Larsson 2008, 33-38)

Citing Articles from Periodicals in Chicago Style: Author-Date

Citing Articles in Periodicals in Chicago Style: Author-Date
	Reference List	In-Text
Article in a Print Periodical	Author. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume #, no. issue # (Season/Month): page range. Doucet, Andrea. 2016. "Is the Stay-At-Home Dad a Feminist Concept?" Sex Roles 72, no. 1-2 (July): 4-14.	(Author year, page[s]) (Doucet 2016, 11)
Article in a Print Magazine	Author. Year. Title of Magazine, date. Allen, Jodie. 1996. "Working out Welfare." Time Magazine, July 29, 1996.	(Author year, page[s]) (Allen 1996, 53)
Article in a Print Newspaper	Author. Year. Title of Newspaper, date. Stevenson, Alexandria. 2020. "When You're on Lock Down: 'Everyone Here Is So Bored'." New York Times. February 14, 2020.	(Author year, page[s]) (Stevenson 2020, B8)

Citing Online Sources in Chicago Style: Author-Date

Citing Online Sources in Chicago Style: Author-Date
	Reference List	In-Text
Article in a Journal from a Database	Author. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume #, no. issue # (Month/Season): page range. DOI or Database. Fairclough, Mary. 2018. "Frankenstein and Chemistry." Literature and Medicine 36, no. 2 (Fall): 269-286. Arts and Humanities Database.	(Author year, page[s]) (Fairclough 2018, 271)
Article in a Journal on the Web	Article Author. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume #, no. issue # (Month/Season): pages if stable. URL. Meyer, Gaelin. 2019. "Humanist Limits in the Material Phenomenology of Religion." The Journal for the Study of Religion* 32, no. 2: 1-23. http://www.scielo.org.za/pdf/jsr/v32n2/05.pdf. https://www-chicagomanualofstyle-org.wesleyancollege.idm.oclc.org/book/ed17/part3/ch15/psec047.html	(Author year, page[s]*) (Meyer 2019, 12).
Article in a Magazine or Newspaper on the Web	Article Author. Year.* "Title of Article." Title of Magazine. Date**. URL. Dobrzynski, Judith H. 2020. "Met Adds Clara Peeters Still-life to its Petit Bouquet of Works by Early Women Painters." The Art Newspaper, March 13, 2020. www.theartnewspaper.com/news/met-adds-clara-peeters-still-life-to-its-petit-bouquet-of-works-by-early-women-painters.	(Author year) (Dobrzynski 2020)
Digital Book	Print Book Citation. Application, URL, Device/Format, or Database. Romero, Channette. 2012. Activism and the American Novel: Religion and Resistance in Fiction by Women of Color. Charlottesville: University of Virginia Press. Adobe Digital Editions EPUB.	(Author year, location*) (Romero 2012, chap. 3)
Entry in an Online Reference Work	Title of Encyclopedia. Year. s.v. "title of entry." Last modified/Accessed date. URL. Encyclopedia Mythica. 1997. s.v. "Pan," Last modified March 3. https://pantheon.org/articles/p/pan.html.	(Title of Encyclopedia year) (Encyclopedia Mythica 1997)
Short Work from a Website	Author [if provided]. Year. "Title of Work." Date.** URL. Wesleyan College. n.d. "Statement of Mission." Accessed March 25, 2020. https://www.wesleyancollege.edu/about/wesleyan-mission.cfm.	(Author** year) (Wesleyan College n.d.)

*page number/section/chapter number

n.d.

Access Date