LibGuides: ENG 101: Databases

Link to GALILEO Search

GALILEO Search
Use the Bento Box or Classic Search to find resources across multiple databases.

Databases

Library Databases can be used to find scholarly and non-scholarly articles and other media. These databases contain both abstracts and full-text articles. Some databases only contain abstracts and index information. Subject specific databases are more narrow and usually only contain one specific subject matter. Multi-discipline databases contain information from a wide variety of sources and topics.

For this course, you should be able to find all the articles you need in the multidiscipline databases below. It you have any trouble finding articles, please make an appointment with a librarian using the box on the left.

Multidiscipline Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.
Advanced Placement Source
Advanced Placement Source is designed to meet the needs of high school students enrolled in various AP courses. It contains more than 5700 full-text journals and over 300,000 photos, maps and flags. Subject areas include mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology, computer science, human geography, psychology, economics & statistics; government & politics; environmental science; U.S., European and world history; the arts and music.
Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.

Discipline Specific Databases

Social Science Database This database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.