Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Wesleyan College Archives & Special Collections

Wesleyan College Artifacts

The images below show some of the artifacts that we have in our collection.  Each photo has a description of what the artifact is and what year, if available.

Eight of the plates shown below belonged to Gladys Tilley Chambers, class of 1904, and were a generous donation from her great-niece, Shipley Jenkins.  Crafted by Wedgwood in 1936, the plates commemorating the Centennial of Wesleyan College were a hot commodity.  They were made in three designs (Original Building, the Towers of Old Wesleyan, or Candler Memorial Library) and in five colors (Rose Pink, Staffordshire Blue, Green, Old Mulberry, and Black).  

Check these links to see more information about the centennial plates
February 1836 Alumnae Magazine
May 1936 Alumnae Magazine
August 1836 Alumnae Magazine
November 1936 Alumnae Magazine


 

Gallery

Wedgwood Centennial Plate in Staffordshire Blue.  From the collection of Gladys Tilley Chambers.  On back: Wesleyan College.  First chartered college for women 1836.  The towers of Old Wesleyan.  Centennial year 1936.

Wedgwood Centennial Plate in Green.  From the collection of Gladys Tilley Chambers.  On back: Wesleyan College.  First chartered college for women 1836.  The towers of Old Wesleyan.  Centennial year 1936.

Wedgwood Centennial Plate in Old Mulberry.  From the collection of Gladys Tilley Chambers.  On back: Wesleyan College.  First chartered college for women 1836.  The towers of Old Wesleyan.  Centennial year 1936.

Wedgwood Centennial Plate in Rose Pink.  From the collection of Gladys Tilley Chambers.  On back: Wesleyan College.  First chartered college for women 1836.  The towers of Old Wesleyan.  Centennial year 1936. 

Wesleyan College Butter Pat in green.  Depicting Candler Memorial Library, now Candler Alumnae Building.

Wesleyan College Butter Pat in blue.  Depicting the front entrance and Tate Hall.

Wesleyan Female College plate.  

Wedgwood plate made for the Transylvania Club of Sandersville, Georgia.  On back: Original Building of Georgia Female College (now Wesleyan) Macon, Georgia.  Established 1836.  First college in the world to bestow degrees upon women.  Catherine Brewer received the first diploma in 1840.

Wesleyan College Commemorative Coin Purse.  Presented in 1915 to Miss Mary A. Gaillard, by her cousin, Bishop Warren A. Candler, Trustee of Wesleyan 1892-1918.  Miss Gaillard presented the purse and chain to the Candler Alumnae Historical Collection because of her many family ties with the College.

Wesleyan Female College Commemorative Spoon.  Given by Betty Bragg Sturdivant, 1928, on the occasion of her Golden Reunion, April 14-15, 1978.  She received the spoon as a wedding present in the fall of 1928.

Splinters Badge.  From 1949-1950, belonging to Eugenia Trapp.

© 2018 Wesleyan College | 4760 Forsyth Road, Macon, GA 31210 | www.wesleyancollege.edu